Melodious Music: Slow Dancing In A Burning Room – John Mayer

It’s not a silly little moment
It’s not the storm before the calm
This is the deep and dyin’ breath of
This love we’ve been workin’ on

Can’t seem to hold you like I want to
So I can feel you in my arms
Nobody’s gonna come and save you
We pulled too many false alarms

We’re goin’ down
And you can see it too
We’re goin’ down
And you know that we’re doomed
My dear
We’re slow dancing in a burnin’ room

I was the one you always dreamed of
You were the one I tried to draw
How dare you say it’s nothing to me
Baby, you’re the only light I ever saw

I’ll make the most of all the sadness
You’ll be a bitch because you can
You try to hit me, just hurt me
So you leave me feeling dirty
‘Cause you can’t understand

We’re goin’ down
And you can see it too
We’re goin’ down
And you know that we’re doomed
My dear
We’re slow dancing in a burnin’ room

Go cry about it, why don’t you
Go cry about it, why don’t you
Go cry about it, why don’t you
My dear, we’re slow dancin’ in a burnin’ room
Burnin’ room, burnin’ room

Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?
Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?
Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?

This song is just a masterpiece on it’s own. The guitar riffs, John Mayer’s voice, the intuitive lyrics, the magnificent tune, just everything about it is perfect. Because it is that great, I will go through ALL of the lyrics. P.S.: All interpretation are my own so they might be wrong or correct. Before that though, I just want to give a special shoutout to Kevin for introducing me to this song because it really is a great song that I’ll never forget.

It’s not a silly little moment
It’s not the storm before the calm
This is the deep and dyin’ breath of
This love we’ve been workin’ on’

It’s not some stupid argument a couple is having. It’s not going to resolve like any other petty thing. It’s the start of the end. The end of something that both partners have been working on so hard to keep it alive.

Can’t seem to hold you like I want to
So I can feel you in my arms
Nobody’s gonna come and save you
We pulled too many false alarms

He wants to keep the relationship alive. He wants to keep hold of her. But he knows that it’s impossible. Nobody can save the relationship anymore. Not even the ones in it. And it’s all because of the little mistakes that accumulated.

We’re goin’ down
And you can see it too
We’re goin’ down
And you know that we’re doomed
My dear
We’re slow dancing in a burnin’ room

Ah, the chorus. It signifies that both partners know that the relationship is going down. That the relationship is going to end. ‘We’re slow dancing in a burning room’ They will still love each other till the end. A bittersweet feeling. They don’t want to let go. The memories. The love. The feelings. But they know it will keep going downhill if it continues.

I was the one you always dreamed of
You were the one I tried to draw
How dare you say it’s nothing to me
Baby, you’re the only light I ever saw

She accuses him of not pulling the weight in the relationship and not loving her enough although she said he was the only man she ever wanted. But to him, it was very clear that she was the only woman he ever wanted.

I’ll make the most of all the sadness
You’ll be a bitch because you can
You try to hit me, just hurt me
So you leave me feeling dirty
‘Cause you can’t understand

He has learnt his lessons from this relationship. From this toxic relationship. Because she doesn’t understand his sacrifices and whatnot. So she puts the blame on him and it leaves a dirty stain on the man’s ego even though what he did was right. And the song goes back to the chorus.

Go cry about it, why don’t you
Go cry about it, why don’t you
Go cry about it, why don’t you
My dear, we’re slow dancin’ in a burnin’ room
Burnin’ room, burnin’ room

Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?
Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?
Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?

He hopes that she regrets about what she has done. And how she wants the relationship to work. But apparently, she never did. And they never knew that this would lead to the end of a relationship. They never knew how to fix the relationship but he still loves her while her love for him faded. And yet, all he can do is stay with her till the end of the relationship. Because he is in denial. In denial of the end of something that was great to him.

As a conclusion, I’ll leave 2 videos. 1 is the studio version which is great and 1 is a live version which is in my opinion, the best rendition of the song.

Leave a Reply

