Short Stories: Gift

‘Happy birthday my friend! Here’s a gift for you.’ said his friend while handing him a wrapped present.

‘We prepared this especially for you.’ said by another friend of his.

‘Awww thank you guys. But I don’t need this gift.’ He sets aside the present on a table.

‘Huh? Why not?’

‘… Because you guys are the ‘gift’. You guys are the gifts that I never realized I wanted but I needed. And for that, I thank you all. I thank you all for staying with me even though I gave you guys all the BS. I really am glad to have you all still with me as good friends.’ He sheds a small tear on the corner of his eye.

And they all hugged each other without saying anything else.

~CYC

 

Leave a Reply

