Living Life: Chilling with Qawi

20161222_215439

Hello everybody, meet Qawi! He’s been a friend of mine for about 5 years now. We first met through a mutual friend via gaming. And he became one of my teammates for gaming (Refer to In My Mind: Competitiveness and Perfectionist). Ever since then, we have been contacting each other on and off through text and gaming.

As we barely get to see each other (I’m mostly studying in Melbourne and he was studying at Bandar), I thought it would be a nice way to catch up with each other’s lives! We talked about various topics; his camping trip at Temburong, my pharmacy life, relationships etc. It was definitely a great night. Just chilling with a close friend outside and talking.

Throughout the conversations of our friendship, his experience kind of opened up my views on situations that I myself would never have experienced. As a Chinese that had mostly Chinese friends throughout my school life, I never really interacted with the Malays. Having him as one of the pure Malay friend, it gives me a lot of insight on what it is like to be with Malays. How they think or how they act. Obviously, not all Malays are the same but I guess it gave a general summary/consensus as to how they behave in certain situations, seeing that most will have the same culture.

Just to clarify, I’m not a judgmental person and certainly will not judge a person without looking at all of the contents. However, it does give some impressions. Hope the Malays out there are not offended! Have a great night!

~CYC

Leave a Reply

